Board of Trustees

Together we will make a better Nashville

United Way of Metropolitan Nashville's Board of Trustees is committed to creating measurable and lasting impact in people’s lives. We are indebted to their tremendous guidance.



Gordon Knapp, Board Chair

CEO & President, Bridgestone Americas


Jim Schmitz, Immediate Past Board Chair & Succession Planning Committee Chair

Market Leader, Elliott Davis


John Crosslin, Vice Chair

Principal, Crosslin, PLLC.


Jenneen Kaufman, Treasurer & Finance Committee Chair

Vice President and CFO, Tennessee Titans


James Bearden, Secretary

CEO, Gresham Smith


Mickey McKay, Campaign Committee Chair

Regional President, Senior Commerical Bank, Fifth Third Bank


Robert (Bob) Dittus, MD, MPH, Community Investment Strategy Chair

Executive Vice President, Public Health and Health Care, Vanderbilt University Medical Center


James Weaver, General Counsel

Partner, Waller


Alberto Gonzales, Member at Large

Dean, School of Law, Belmont University


Wayne Smith, Member at Large 

Chairman, President and CEO, Community Health Systems


Brian Hassett, President & CEO

United Way of Metropolitan Nashville


Board Trustees 

Tim Adams

CEO, Ascension & Saint Thomas Health


Janet Ayers

President, Ayers Foundation


Scott Becker

Senior VP, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, Genesco


Cathy Stewart Brown

Administrative Officer, Stewart Home & School


William F. Carpenter III

Chairman, LifePoint Health 


Charlie Cook

Community Foundation Liaison, Chairman Emeritus, Truxton Trust 


Honorable Karl Dean

Former Mayor of Nashville


Robert (Bob) Dennis

Chairman, President and CEO, Genesco Inc.


Sam DeVane

Nashville Office Managing Partner, EY


Jim Gingrich

COO, Alliance Bernstein


E. Anthony (Tony) Heard

President, InfoWorks, Inc.


Damon Hininger

President and CEO, CoreCivic


Laura Hollingsworth

Senior VP & CMO, Opry Entertainment Group - Ryman Hospitality Properties


Lee Ann Ingram

Community Philanthropist


R. Milton Johnson

Retired Chairman and CEO, HCA Healthcare


Honorable William C. Koch, Jr.

Dean, Nashville School of Law


Mickey McKay

Regional President, Senior Commerical Bank, Fifth Third Bank


Rob McNeilly

Market President, Synovus Bank 


Joelle Phillips

President, AT&T Tennessee


Scott Pohlman

Market President, SunTrust Bank 


Ben L. Rechter

Chairman, Rogers Group, Inc.


Ronald Q. Roberts

CEO and Managing Partner, DVL Seigenthaler


Heather Rohan

President, HCA Healthcare – TriStar Health


Kevin Rome, PhD

President, Fisk University


Anne Russell

Special Counsel, Adams and Reese LLP


Mike Schatzlein, MD, MBA

Principal, The Schatzlein Solutions Group 


Mike Shmerling

Chairman, Clearbrook Holdings Corp.


Rev. R. Leigh Spruill

Rector, St. George’s Episcopal Church


Dave Walton

President & CEO, Caterpillar Financial Services Corporation


Emily Weiss

VP, Community Relations, Ingram Industries


Don Cochran, Ex Officio Trustee

Representative of Cheatham County, Community Leader


Board Officers

    Board Trustees